Tuesday, June 28, 2016

MLB Week 12 - My Aging Heroes


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Nobody said it would last forever. I watched, with great delight and bittersweet sadness, the Number 14 Retirement Ceremony this past Sunday. It was wonderful to see the heroes of my youth gathered together once again to honor one of their own. The ceremony was a long time coming with baseball finally relenting to allow Pete Rose his rightful induction into the Reds Hall of Fame.

What saddened me is the fact that, no matter the vitamins, exercise, healthy eating, Blue Emu ointment, and the like, “Father Time” is undefeated. The once svelte Johnny Bench, at 68, is suffering from a myriad of problems caused by sixteen years of donning the “tools of ignorance”, 75-year-old Pete Rose seemed out of breath, and very uncomfortable, after taking his seat at the podium, Tony Perez, 74, was sweating profusely, merely from walking to the stage from the dugout, Davey Concepcion, who turned 68 on June 17, once could walk between raindrops, now seems to have discovered cheeseburgers since his retirement, even Hall of Fame broadcaster Marty Brennaman, now in his 43rd season behind the mic, is slowly showing his age.

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 12


Dan Howard and Jack Ward are back at it again for their weekly review of Cincinnati Reds baseball. This past week's action included a trip through Texas and an embarrassing series defeat at home to the Padres during Pete Rose's Reds Hall of Fame induction weekend. 

Monday, June 27, 2016

Recapping the Weekend Which Paid Homage to Charlie Hustle

Pete Rose Swing.jpg

by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

It was a great weekend honoring Pete Rose at GABP! Pete looks great for the age of 75. And his candor and his insights are always delightful. I could listen to Pete Rose, Joe Morgan and Johnny Bench talk all day about baseball. To me (except for Bible teaching and Bible preaching) there is nothing more interesting than to hear these wonderful Reds players from days past talk baseball.

Pete is a national treasure. Pete has mellowed over the years somewhat. Yes, I even see signs of humility coming out of him. As he seems to be less inclined to toot his own horn (if you don’t count the Ichiro hit controversy of last week.)

There will never be another Pete Rose! Unfortunately, he will never be in the baseball writers Hall of Fame. But who cares? That is the BASEBALL WRITERS Hall of Fame not the Major League baseball hall of fame. In fact, there is no Major League Baseball hall of fame! Cooperstown belongs to the writers and who cares what they think? Only the Hall of Fame Old Timers committee is comprised of former players and executives of Baseball. All the other hall of famers are selected by a group of baseball writers. Don’t get me wrong, I respect their craft and Hal McCoy is deserving of every honor. But there should be a hall of fame where everyone gets a say.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

MLB Week 11 - All In


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

With Cincinnati splitting a four game series last week in Atlanta, followed by losing two of three in Houston, it’s official….

The Reds suck.

I was full o’ optimism in last week’s article, but a disastrous eleventh inning last Wednesday changed my mind. What was Bryan Price thinking?

October 2nd, the last game of the season, can’t come fast enough.

Congrats to LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers for bringing the city of Cleveland its first championship since December 27, 1964.

Monday, June 20, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 11


Another week, another podcast from staffers Dan Howard and Jack Ward, as they continue their quest to recap the Reds and all things baseball on a weekly basis in 2016. 

Honoring Pete Rose: All-Time Hit King


by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

The Reds are not going to drastically turn things around before the end of the season. But they are showing signs of life in the month of June. Adam Duvall and Jay Bruce continue to carry the offensive load. Adam Duvall followed up his great month of May with 11 home runs with 6 home runs so far in June. What about his two out, two strike home run to tie the game on Saturday. That was clutch!

The Reds have a winning record so far in June at 9-8. They have lost three one-run games that could possibly have gone either way. They are at Texas for two games and then home to take on the Padres for four games and the Cubs for three.

This coming weekend is Pete Rose weekend at GABP. Pete Rose will finally be recognized by the Reds and will have his number retired and he will be inducted into the Reds Hall of Fame on Sunday. It’s not the Reds fault for the delay but due to his long banishment from Major League Baseball. The powers that be (i.e. the former commissioner Bud Selig) would not allow Pete to be honored by the Reds.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

MLB Week 10 – Turning the Corner?



by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Could it really be happening? Have the 2016 Reds figured it out? Ten wins in their last fifteen games is something none of us expected. The offense is clicking, the starting pitching has improved, the defense is looking good, and the bullpen still needs prayer. Maybe this team has finally turned the corner.

Again, as I mentioned during our weekly podcast, if this year’s team wins 77 games, the most wins during the three-year reign of Bryan Price, I’ll apologize for asking for his dismissal. Unless the Reds fire him first.

It looks like Jay Bruce will be playing for another team by August 1. Rumor has it the Chicago White Sox are very interested.

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Reds Showing A Resurgence as Summer Heats Up


by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

The Reds have won 7 out of their last 11 games. The young pitchers have fared pretty well lately. Anthony Desclafani was outstanding in his first start back from injury. Dan Straily is turning out to be the Reds most consistent pitcher and maybe the most consistent in the National League whose name is not Clayton Kershaw and Jake Arrietta (who has proven to be human lately.) And Brandon Finnegan has been very good of late.

Hitters Jay Bruce and Adam Duvall have carried the Reds lately. Bruce is second in the National League with 49 RBI’s. I don’t know if Jay has ever been this close to the top of the RBI race this late in the season. That is good and that is bad. The good is that Jay is a personal favorite of mine. I want him to do well. And I think he is highly underrated as a player. But on the flip side this means he will be very attractive to contending teams before the trade deadline. I don’t see any chance of the Reds hanging on to Jay Bruce this time. He is still young at 29 and I think his best two or three years are ahead of him.

Adam Duvall has been red hot since May 1st. He hit 11 home runs in May and has hit 5 so far in June. Jay Bruce and Adam Duvall have driven in 16 and 15 runs respectively this month alone!

Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 10


In this edition of the RR podcast, Jack Ward and Dan Howard are at it again discussing the latest state of the Reds as well as other MLB-related topics.

Friday, June 10, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 9



In this episode of the weekly podcast, Jack Ward and Dan Howard discuss the club's recent mini-surge and whether or not it can be sustained, among other baseball-related items.