Wednesday, May 24, 2017

MLB Week 6 - Going Down




By Dan Howard
Staff Writer




Last week we were touting the highs of the Reds success, this week a totally different story.

Sure, it got off to a decent start, splitting the series with those “Darned” Yankees. That was a great catch by Eugenio Suarez leading to the double play that ended Tuesday’s 5 – 3 win versus New York. Then there was the 3 – 2 win Thursday in the first of four at San Francisco.

Then someone pulled the plug.

Did any of you stay up to see the end of Friday night’s/Saturday morning’s seventeen inning marathon, ended by Buster Posey’s walk off homer. Neither did I. Blame that on being fifty-three years old. Sleep is a wonderful thing.

It was nice to see Johnny Cueto in his usual dominance last Friday. Eight innings pitched, two earned runs, and six strikeouts. Kinda made it worth letting him go in lieu of our one hundred six-million-dollar man Homer Bailey.

Have we missed any of Homer Bailey’s starts this year? No, in fact, Bailey hasn’t pitched since August 28, 2016 at Arizona.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

MLB Week 5 - Where Did This Come From?


By Dan Howard
Staff Writer



Ha! Made you look! In case you’re wondering, that’s an Aston Martin Vulcan, the British built hyper car that will set you back only 2.3 million dollars. Don’t expect to see any on the highway, they’re a track only car.

Baseball is beautiful in its simplicity, a marvelous wonder of dexterity, grace, and pure athleticism. Much like the car in the picture.

Then there’s the Atlanta Braves.

If anyone would have told me, during Spring Training, that five weeks into the season the 2015 World Champions Kansas City Royals would have the worst record in the American League, followed closely by the Toronto Blue Jays, along with the three time champs this decade, the San Francisco Giants having the worst record in baseball, I would have recommended that you have a checkup from the neck up.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

MLB Week 4 - The British May be Right


By Dan Howard
Staff Writer



A couple of weeks ago NBA commissioner Adam Silver was asked his opinion about top teams resting their players, while the scum sucking bottom feeders, like the Los Angeles Lakers, would seemingly purposely lose to try to improve their draft standing. Silver’s reply was thought provoking. He mentioned the English Premier League, arguably the top soccer league in the world, relegating, in other words, kicking out the three worst teams in the league every season. He wondered aloud if a system like that would work here in the United States.

The way it works in England is that the bottom three teams are replaced the following season by two of the top teams in the Football League Division One, the third is determined by a playoff.

What does that have to do with the Reds? If relegation was in place last season, the bottom three teams in baseball were, the Minnesota Twins, the San Diego Padres, and our Cincinnati Reds.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

MLB Week 3 - Insanity or Genius?


Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Ok, ok so what do I know anyway?


A couple of weeks ago, when our Reds were rolling at 7 – 2, I complimented Bryan Price for the way he handled the pitching staff.


Yeah, I spoke waaaaaay too soon.

His genius two weeks ago has quickly faded to insanity.

You probably see where this is going, and its way past due.

I don’t know if Price is holding the Reds hostage, or he knows deep dark secrets on GM Dick Williams, advisor to the GM Walt Jocketty, or owner Bob Castellini, but the time has come to show Bryan Price the door.

Can he turn it around? What do you think? He’s has the “keys to the car” for a little over three seasons and what has been the result? Eighty-six losses in 2014, ninety-eight losses in 2015, followed by last year’s ninety-four losses.

Saturday, April 22, 2017

MLB Week 2 - Still the First


Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Memo to MLB – Can the Reds get a do over from the beginning of this recent homestand?

Last week I wrote that I expected the bubble to burst, just not this soon.

Despite the home woes during the Milwaukee series, our beloved Reds are still in first place, barely. It’s been a while that the Reds have been in first place this late in the season.

Did I mention that this is only the second week of the season?

The pitching has been decent, the offense, with a few exceptions, has been lacking.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

MLB Week 1 – Who’d Thunk It?


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Nine games into the 2017 season and the best team in baseball is… (drumroll please) our Cincinnati Reds.

At 7 – 2 the Reds are off to their best start since the World Championship season of 1990.

The optimistic twelve-year-old living inside me believes the Reds can win it all this year. The fifty-three-year-old working class stiff that I am knows the bubble is bursting soon, but let’s enjoy it while it lasts. Remember this is the youngest team in the majors.

Second Coming of the Nasty Boys? After the first ten games of this season Cincinnati is second in the National League in Earned Run Average – 2.73, lowest ERA after the first ten games since 2.63 in 1990.

Monday, April 3, 2017

A Harsh Winter


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

As I begin my first article of 2017, I must open with an apology to you, the loyal readers of this blog. My Redlegs Review colleague, and best friend, Dr. Jack Ward, and I gave a brief explanation in our last podcast, published after the World Series, in case you didn’t hear it, I’ll explain.

On Friday, October 14th, 2016 while preparing to do our weekly podcast which was going to be a recap of the Divisional Series and our predictions for the upcoming League Championship Series, I phoned Jack, who said we needed to postpone the broadcast because his wife, Cindy, was experiencing some health issues and had to go to the hospital. Due to the complexity of her health issues, Cindy, an organ donor recipient, and diabetic, needed to be admitted to the University of Kentucky hospital, where the doctors are familiar with her illness.

The bad news came the next day. Cancer. Cindy was promoted from this life to eternal glory on Tuesday, October 18.

Monday, October 10, 2016

Checking in on Postseason Prognostications

Image result for thinking emoji


by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

I predicted that Baltimore would beat Toronto in the Wild Card game. Close…but I missed that one when former Red Edwin Encarnarcion hit a walk off in the 11th inning.

I predicted that Boston would beat Cleveland. Not looking good with Cleveland up 2-0 as I write this article.

I predicted that New York would beat the Giants. Wrong again, but again a close call with the Giants hanging on to win 3-0 behind Madison Bumgarner….again…arrghh!!

I did predict the Cubs over the Giants. The Cubs are up 2-0 heading into San Francisco. I so hate the Giants. I hope they lose tonight. I am so tired of hearing about the even year playoff success. I am so tired of Madison Bumgarner dominating in the playoffs. I hope that Jake Arrietta has a great game for the Cubs tonight and puts this thing to bed for Chicago. I don’t especially like the Cubs but I like the Giants even less.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

MLB Week 26 – Ninety Times Two

Image result for the end

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

It’s over, finally.

I actually watched the Vice Presidential Debate last night. Best night of sleep I’ve gotten since attending my last postmasters meeting.

A couple of years ago, while shopping at a local retail pharmacy, I saw a compact disk specifically designed to help individuals sleep. I thought it was a recorded postal meeting.

The second straight ninety plus loss season, the first since the 1930’s, has come to a merciful conclusion.

My Redlegs Review contemporary, and dear friend, Jack Ward did his annual season recap in his article, so I won’t be redundant. I’ll just add a few thoughts.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 24



In this edition of the Redlegs Review podcast, Dan Howard and Jack Ward provide some postseason prognostications, as well as discuss the club's decision to bring back Bryan Price for 2017.