Monday, August 18, 2014

October aspirations sinking quickly for Reds after disaster in Denver


On April 15, 1912, while en route to America, arguably the most infamous ship wreck in the history of the world occurred when the RMS Titanic, owned by White Star Line, struck an iceberg and descended to the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean within a matter of hours. News that the previously labeled "unsinkable ship" had sank was received across the world in utter dismay. How could the life of this impenetrable vessel be over so soon after it had departed on its maiden voyage just five days prior?

On Sunday, the 2014 season for the Cincinnati Reds suffered a similar fate when the Reds inexplicably melted down at Coors Field, sustaining two brutal back-to-back losses to the woeful Rockies that essentially put both a huge dent in the club morale and the odds of a trip back to the playoffs. Ironically, the forgettable Sunday evening was caused by the same thing that doomed the Titanic, an overabundance of water, except Cincinnati's problem stemmed from a mysterious water main break.

At this point, let me make it clear that I'm not seriously comparing the tragic sinking of the Titanic, which sadly resulted in the deaths of more than 1,500 souls, to that of a relatively meaningless baseball team's season. The fateful event from 1912 means to serve more as symbolism to Cincinnati's 2014 campaign more than anything. With that said, there are certainly parallels to draw from both events.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Everything you need to know about recent Reds news in one post


For the middle of August, the last week or so has produced more than its fair share of news related to the Reds. With that in mind, summer vacations, the return of school for the kids, and life in general has probably kept you from keeping up with all of the latest happenings around Reds Country. So here is my attempt at rounding up the most notable nuggets to keep you up to speed.

Brandon Phillips is set to take the field for an actual game for the first time since undergoing left thumb surgery on July 11. That's the good news. The bad news is he won't be suiting up and playing second base for the Redlegs. He will be donning the Triple-A uniform of the Louisville Bats as they play host to the Indianapolis Indians at Louisville Slugger Field on Friday. If all goes well this weekend, Phillips could be back with the big club as soon as Monday when Cincinnati is in St. Louis.

+ Speaking of the Bats, they're planning to honor franchise favorite Corky Miller on August 31 as part of Corky Miller Night at the ballpark. The team is planning to retire Corky's No. 8 jersey on the outfield wall as part of pre-game ceremonies. Well deserved.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

MLB Week 20 - Death of a Genius

Robin Williams 2011a (2).jpg

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

I feel I must comment briefly on the death of comedic legend and San Francisco Giants fan Robin Williams. Mr. Williams burst onto the scene during the hit 1970’s comedy Happy Days. His appearance as “Mork from Ork” made Williams literally a household name overnight. From that came his own show, “Mork and Mindy” opposite Pam Dawber. I’m sure many of you have rummaged through your parents antiques and asked about those funny rainbow suspenders or what exactly did “Nanu – Nanu” mean on this lunchbox.

I remember that cold snowy Friday night in January 1977 when the news flash came about Freddie Prinze, a hugely talented actor from my favorite television show of that era, “Chico and the Man”, tried to kill himself. There were reports from the hospital, the set of his show, his family and various other sources telling how unexpected this was. At thirteen years old, it was the first time I’ve ever prayed for someone. I mean “Chico” couldn’t die, what would happen to the show? I cried when I heard the news the following day that Freddie Prinze had indeed passed away. Robin Williams definitely filled the void left behind when “Chico” died.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Pete Rose to serve as coach for Florence Freedom


For the second time this summer, all-time hit king Pete Rose is scheduled to suit up and serve as a coach in a professional baseball game.

The Florence Freedom of the independent Frontier League have announced plans to honor the Cincinnati native on Tuesday, Sept. 2 by retiring his No. 14 and allowing him to coach first base. The retiring of his jersey number will come during a special on-field ceremony during the seventh inning stretch. When it happens, the Freedom will become the first professional team to officially retire Rose's jersey. Additionally, Rose will also throw out the game's ceremonial first pitch.

The event is intended to draw both headlines and fans for an organization that is constantly looking for ways to drum up attention in the minor league baseball landscape. Naturally, the team is giving fans a variety of options to take part in the festivities (for a nominal fee of course).

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Video: Four Reds greats get inducted into team Hall of Fame



The Reds Hall of Fame & Museum officially added four more members on Saturday as the late Jake Beckley, Ron Oester, Dave Parker, and Ken Griffey Jr. were enshrined as part of pre-game ceremonies on the field at Great American Ball Park.

Each player added their own unique contribution to the history of the great franchise and each will now be immortalized through their place in the Reds Hall of Fame.

A tip of the cap goes to all four for their service to the Reds.

Thursday, August 7, 2014

MLB Week 19 - A Cure for Lethargy


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Dictionary.com defines lethargy as “the quality or state of being drowsy and dull, listless and unenergetic, or indifferent and lazy; apathetic or sluggish inactivity.” In other words, the way the Reds played Monday night at Cleveland.

There comes a time in any manager’s life that his team will underperform and suffer a series of losses. It is during these times of duress that we’ll see what the manager is really made of. Monday night was a prime example of a manager finally seeing enough and doing something about it.

I do not know Bryan Price personally, but from what I’ve seen, he comes across as a humble, mild mannered, and patient person given the huge responsibility of managing a Major League baseball team, not just any team, but an up-and-coming team with a pitching staff that, in a few years, may be regarded as the best in baseball. Even the meekest person has a breaking point, and after Monday’s lack-luster performance, Price decided he’d seen enough.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Photo: Reds unveil logo for 2015 All-Star Game hosted in Cincinnati

Embedded image permalink
The baseball world will turn its collective attention to Cincinnati next summer as the Reds play host the 86th edition of the MLB All-Star Game at Great American Ball Park.

And we now have an image that will brand the momentous occasion after the Reds and MLB unveiled the official logo for the event on Wednesday.

Naturally, the logo features none other than the best-groomed mascot in professional sports, Mr. Redlegs, along with the iconic wishbone "C" plastered onto a sea of red in the background.

The 2015 Midsummer Classic will mark the fifth time in history that the Queen City has hosted the event and the first since 1988 at Riverfront Stadium. In case you are curious, here is a look back at the Cincinnati All-Star Game logos of years past. Pretty awesome, huh?

Monday, August 4, 2014

Barry Larkin bobblehead now available on weekends in August


As a kid growing up in the 1990s, with a particular affinity for the Cincinnati Reds, one player who I always tried to imitate on the field was Barry Larkin. I played the same position as Larkin, wore the same number as Larkin (No. 11) and for awhile went as far as fashioning my batting stance after Larkin.

You can only imagine my joy when I saw "The Captain" take his rightful place into Cooperstown in the summer of 2012. And Larkin continues to be a presence in baseball thanks to his analyst role at ESPN.

Now, fans wanting to literally get a piece of the Reds legends will have a chance to do so during weekends in August, as the Reds Hall of Fame & Museum continues its collectible bobblehead series with the release of the Larkin bobblehead.

Here's more information courtesy of the Reds...

Sunday, August 3, 2014

A Note from the Editor about Redlegs Review


Dear Redlegs Review readers,

I would like to take this time to thank everyone who has supported the blog by reading the site's content, following and interacting with us on social media, voting in poll questions, putting your thoughts in the comments section and more. It has truly been a great experience covering and following Reds baseball with you guys since the site took off in February 2011.

With that being said, I wish to inform you all that change is coming to the RR you have grown accustomed to. I have recently accepted a new job position that will demand far greater time and effort from me and will no longer be able to update the blog on a daily basis. I know some of you probably navigate your way to RR each day in search of news and fresh content about the Reds. So I apologize for not being able to continue providing regular updates.

With that said, I have no intention of shutting Redlegs Review down completely, as it will stay in its current state, but just in a reduced manner. My hope is to still be able to post once or twice a week with my thoughts and opinions on the state of Reds baseball. And of course our friend Dan Howard will continue providing his weekly column on the site as well. So be sure to check back from time-to-time.

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Two Reds named as potential trade candidates in August


Although the non-waiver trade deadline came and went without the Reds making a move, it doesn't necessarily mean general manager Walt Jocketty won't end up executing one.

As any knowledgeable baseball fan will know, the trade deadline isn't actually an absolute deadline to strike a trade, but rather the deadline to make a deal without having to slide a player through waivers. The process to complete a swap after July 31 is certainly more difficult. But it's not impossible either.

With that being said, Buster Olney of ESPN.com recently compiled a list of candidates who he believes could be dealt in the month of August. It's an Insider piece, so a subscription is required to view the whole piece, but here is a snippet of Olney's column about the two Reds he named, which were Ryan Ludwick and Mat Latos.