Monday, October 10, 2016

Checking in on Postseason Prognostications

Image result for thinking emoji

by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

I predicted that Baltimore would beat Toronto in the Wild Card game. Close…but I missed that one when former Red Edwin Encarnarcion hit a walk off in the 11th inning.

I predicted that Boston would beat Cleveland. Not looking good with Cleveland up 2-0 as I write this article.

I predicted that New York would beat the Giants. Wrong again, but again a close call with the Giants hanging on to win 3-0 behind Madison Bumgarner….again…arrghh!!

I did predict the Cubs over the Giants. The Cubs are up 2-0 heading into San Francisco. I so hate the Giants. I hope they lose tonight. I am so tired of hearing about the even year playoff success. I am so tired of Madison Bumgarner dominating in the playoffs. I hope that Jake Arrietta has a great game for the Cubs tonight and puts this thing to bed for Chicago. I don’t especially like the Cubs but I like the Giants even less.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

MLB Week 26 – Ninety Times Two

Image result for the end

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

It’s over, finally.

I actually watched the Vice Presidential Debate last night. Best night of sleep I’ve gotten since attending my last postmasters meeting.

A couple of years ago, while shopping at a local retail pharmacy, I saw a compact disk specifically designed to help individuals sleep. I thought it was a recorded postal meeting.

The second straight ninety plus loss season, the first since the 1930’s, has come to a merciful conclusion.

My Redlegs Review contemporary, and dear friend, Jack Ward did his annual season recap in his article, so I won’t be redundant. I’ll just add a few thoughts.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 24

In this edition of the Redlegs Review podcast, Dan Howard and Jack Ward provide some postseason prognostications, as well as discuss the club's decision to bring back Bryan Price for 2017.

Monday, October 3, 2016

Reds Turn the Page and Look Ahead to 2017

Image result for 2017

by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

The 2016 season is history. The Reds gagged away their final game of the season to the Cubs. Raisel Iglesias finally blew a save. He was great all season so this last game was in no way a reflection of the year he had which began as an effective opening game starter to bullpen ace.

The loss in the final gave the Reds a 36-37 record after the All-Star break. This earned Bryan Price a contract renewal. He has next year and an option for 2018. I have no problem with Bryan Price and his whole staff coming back. The Reds are rebuilding and are very close to completing the job. I don’t know how much effect a manager really has on a team anyway. I think the general manger actually has more influence because it’s his job to get the talent on the field. All the manager can do is put the players he has been given in the right place. And then it’s up to the players to perform. A manager’s biggest influence is on the pitching staff. Knowing when to pull a starter and how he handles his bullpen.

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 23

In this edition of the Redlegs Review podcast, Jack Ward and Dan Howard discuss the tragedy involving Jose Fernandez, the improvement shown by the Reds in the second half, and the retirement of long-time Dodgers announcer Vin Scully, among other topics.

Monday, September 26, 2016

MLB Week 25 – Why

Image result for jose fernandez rip

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

It’s impossible to speak about an unspeakable tragedy, but I will try to share my thoughts in the next few paragraphs.

Sunday is my only day off from my job as a clerk for the United States Postal Service. It’s the only morning I get to rise late, around 10am, review my Sunday School lesson for our noon service, play with my granddaughter, and otherwise do little else before leaving for church.

September 25, was just a typical Sunday morning for me and my family, we’re beginning a study from Acts chapter 18 in Sunday School, so I made sure I had my notes ready and grabbed a bowl of cereal for a Sunday morning news briefing on television. I wasn’t prepared for what I heard.

I’ve been a Christian for 32 years, an Assistant Pastor for eight years and, in 2010, I earned an Associate’s Degree in Theology, but nothing prepared me for the shock of hearing the tragic death of Miami Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

MLB Week 24 – The End is Near

Image result for end is near

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

“The city is in ruins.

The fledgling city has now has been reduced to ashes by a gang of swashbuckling Buccaneers, pillaging the village, taking no prisoners and showing no mercy.

Children are crying, women are nearing hysterics, and men wander what’s left of the smoldering streets in stunned disbelief.

One pirate busted into my humble abode, terrifying my family. I sprang into action, ready to defend my wife and kids to the death if necessary. I grabbed the first thing I could reach, a family heirloom sword, and lunged toward the torso of the assailant. I could see that my aggression had no effect on my unwelcomed guest. A sneer crossed his face as he drew his revolver from its holster a pointed it in my direction. I paused briefly then resumed my attack, expecting to meet death. The pirate pulled the hammer back on his revolver, I told my wife I loved her as I could see the invader squeeze the trigger…”

Monday, September 19, 2016

Cellar is a Historical Rarity for Reds

Image result for last place medal

by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

I was too hasty of my burying the Pirates last week. The Pirates are still in the wildcard race. I had them dead and buried. But they beat the Reds three out of four at GABP. Now they have a shot, a very long shot but they have a chance. Darn it!

May I digress about the terrible breaks the Bengals always get against the Steelers. The Steelers always benefit from horrible game changing calls against the Bengals. And of course the awful calls are never overturned by the NFL officiating crew. Something bad happens almost every time the Steelers play the Bengals. I knew the officials would not reverse the obvious NON-fumble by the Bengals Tyler Boyd. The NFL should be called the NPSL. The National Pittsburgh Steelers League. No clear evidence they said to overturn the fumble call on Boyd they said. Well, the announcers who saw it on the TV replays could tell it was NOT a fumble. Maybe the NPSL should get HD monitors. What a joke. The Steelers get all the breaks and all the calls. Does that sound juvenile and bitter? Yes, and thank you.

Monday, September 12, 2016

MLB Week 23 – Fifteen Years Ago…

Image result for 9/11 never forget

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Fifteen years ago, on what seemed to be a perfect Tuesday morning, nearly three thousand individuals left their homes, and never returned.

Fifteen years ago, the innocence of this nation, and the world, changed as unspeakable evil crept upon our shores in an event so aptly described as “a cowardly attack”.

Fifteen years ago, time seemingly stopped moving as we watched in absolute horror the events unfolding in New York City, Washington D.C. and that field near Pittsburgh.

Fifteen years ago, in the worst single day of our life, we saw the best of America as untold numbers of rescue personnel risked their lives in an effort to save others, unfortunately 411 heroes met the same fate as the ones they were attempting to rescue. Among the deceased included 343 New York City Firefighters, 37 Port Authority Police Officers, 23 New York City Police Officers and 8 Emergency Medical Technicians.

Sinking Pirates Extra Sweet for Redlegs

by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

Nice weekend for the Reds in Pittsburgh. They finished the Pirates for the season and that is so sweet. And the Reds did it in Pittsburgh, double sweet. We all remember in 2013 when the Pirates mercilessly taunted, and harassed Johnny Cueto and all the Reds players and fans non-stop during the whole game. The Pirates grabbed a quick 2-0 lead in the bottom of the second and they celebrated obnoxiously and derided the Reds from that point until the game was over. The Reds lost 6-2. I know the Pirates hadn’t been to a postseason in over 20 years at the time. And you know what? They sure acted like it!

Bitter? Yeah! Jealous? No! I know the Reds fans will never ever act like that. Why? Reds fans respect the game and we respect our opponents. We cheer when we're supposed to. And boo when we must. But Reds fans won’t taunt or insult other players no matter what. Why? Midwestern and southern manners. Most of us who live in the Midwest have ancestors from Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia. Southerners have manners and respect. And these transplanted southerners brought hard work, respect for others, manners and ethics with them when they came north looking for work after World War II. But to be honest when the southerners arrived in Ohio, Indiana, and Michigan they found that those people, a lot of them descendants from German and Irish potato farmers, had much the same values as they did.