Wednesday, April 27, 2016

MLB Week 3 - The City is in Ruins


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Cincinnati is gone.

The Gem of the Ohio River, the Queen City, a.k.a. Porkopolis, is now a vast, deserted, and smoldering wasteland. Women are screaming, children are sobbing uncontrollably, and men wander aimlessly in total disbelief as to what happened to their city and everyone asks “Will there be anyone who’ll dare to stop the Big Blue Monster?”

O.K., enough with the dramatics, but the Reds were thoroughly dominated over the weekend, to the tune of 38 runs allowed, 10 homers, 11 doubles, not to mention the Cubs batted .314 during the beat down. In the three games Chicago won, they outscored Cincinnati 33 – 1. I’m still wondering how the Reds managed to win 13 – 5 on Saturday.

Useless Trivia; the Reds are 3 – 0 this season on Saturday.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 4


Dan Howard and Jack Ward recap the third week of Cincinnati's 2016 campaign, which included a rough 4-game series against the Cubbies over the weekend (and Jake Arrieta's no-hitter). The guys also look ahead for what's to come.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Recapping Week Three of Cincinnati's 2016 Campaign


by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

Bad series against the Cubs at Chicago week before last and this past weekend another shellacking against the Reds by the Cubs. Thursdays 16-0 score was bad enough, but to add to their embarrassment,  the Reds were no-hit by Jake Arrieta. Making this the worst, most lopsided loss in Reds history! And unfortunately I watched every sickening minute because I didn’t want to miss a possible no-hitter. How thoroughly the Reds were beaten in every way that night.

The Reds started last week’s home stand with a 5-1 loss to the Rockies. But they rebounded with 4-3 and 6-5 wins on Tuesday and Wednesday respectively. Then a four game series with the Cubs. Thursday was awful enough. They followed that up with an 8-1 loss on Friday night. A bad outing by Brandon Finnegan on Thursday and Jon Moscot was not sharp Friday. The Reds rebounded with a nice 13-5 win on Saturday by knocking out the Cubs John Lackey and pounding out four home runs including three in a seven run sixth inning. That was Joey Votto Super Bobble Head night in which over 41,000 showed up. And to make the night complete, Joey Votto hit a seventh inning home run.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

MLB Week 2 - Same Stuff, Different Year


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

That giant thud you heard on Sunday was our Reds returning to Earth.

Isn’t baseball a fickle game, last week we’re talking about how Cincinnati was two pitches from a 7 – 0 start, their best since 1990. Today, after the beatdowns administered by Chicago and St. Louis, we’re wondering if the Reds will be battling for last place in the National League Central.

This season, the same as the last two, the story remains the same, repeated bullpen meltdowns costing Cincinnati wins.

How is J.J. Hoover like a vacuum cleaner? They both suck.

What a difference a year makes. Last year Hoover was 8 – 2 with an E.R.A. of 2.94, two weeks into this season Hoover is 0 – 1 with an astronomical E.R.A of 15.19.

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 3


Dan Howard and Jack Ward recap the second full week of the 2016 season for the Reds...which included a rough 1-5 road trip through Chicago and St. Louis. 

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 2


Jack Ward and Dan Howard recap the first full week of the 2016 season for the Redlegs...which included a promising 5-2 start!

Monday, April 18, 2016

Notating Good and Bad From Road Trip



by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

Well, all the encouragement we saw in the first week of the 2016 went by the boards when the Reds traveled to Chicago and St. Louis. Granted these are undoubtedly two of the best teams in the National league so it is reasonable to expect to have a tough six games. And even playing five hundred is not unreasonable but a tall task.

You know the old formula for baseball success, win at home and play five hundred on the road. But alas the Reds went 1 and 5 on the trip. Basically, they were pummeled in Chicago. They didn’t have a chance in that series. Then they travel to St Louis and the Cardinals blew them out in game one of their series. The Reds bounced back for a nice win on Saturday. But if not for a Jay Bruce ninth inning home run it would have been another blown save for JJ Hoover. They lost a tight game on Sunday, but that’s the way it goes sometimes. And who the heck is the Cardinals Eric Fryer? He goes three for three Sunday and just as the Reds luck would have it, he doubles in the winning run in the eighth. Give me a break! The Reds had enough trouble through the years with catcher Yadier Molina and now this guy goes off on them.

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Reds Offense Seeks Resurgence in 2016


by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

The Reds 2016 season is off to a surprising start. The Reds swept the Phillies and took two of three from the Pirates. (Should have swept that series.) My analysis so far. I now have hope for the season. The Reds starting pitchers pitched really well and the bullpen was very good. They hit in the clutch and played great defense.

Of course before we get too excited, the Phillies are awful. So the Pirates series gave us a real chance to evaluate the Reds and the result is grade B+.

Can the Reds compete all season? Yes. Why? They have a very good offense. I hate to say it, as much as I loved Todd Frazier, but I think the Reds have upgraded at third base. Eugenio Suarez impressed me last year, and when I saw the Reds were giving him the third base job, I was intrigued. Now will he continue to hit like the first week? Of course not. Will he hit .290 or more? Yes. Will he hit 20 plus home runs. Yes. Will he drive in 80 plus runs? Maybe? But that’s not important. I like him hitting in front of Joey Votto. There Eugenio is going to get good pitches to hit. I really like this kid.

MLB Week 1 - Didn't See That Coming




by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Wow! Egg on my face.

At the time of this article, Monday afternoon April 11, Cincinnati is on pace for 135 wins this season. I’m pretty sure that would be a record.

The 2001 Cincinnati Reds had a 130 – 32 record, on my kids Nintendo 64 Ken Griffey Jr. Baseball Game. We beat the Royals in the World Series.

Speaking of video games, did you watch the thrilling Heroes of the Dorm College Championship on ESPN 2 this weekend? Be glad you didn’t.

Last week I predicted that Cincinnati would win five games in April. Today I had the pleasure to speak with Lee Mueller, a retired beat writer for the New York Mets, who told me he thought the Reds would win only four games this month.

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 1


In this first podcast of 2016, Jack Ward and Dan Howard break down Cincinnati's Opening Day win over Philadelphia and provide an outlook for what may be in store for the Reds.