Saturday, April 22, 2017

MLB Week 2 - Still the First


Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Memo to MLB – Can the Reds get a do over from the beginning of this recent homestand?

Last week I wrote that I expected the bubble to burst, just not this soon.

Despite the home woes during the Milwaukee series, our beloved Reds are still in first place, barely. It’s been a while that the Reds have been in first place this late in the season.

Did I mention that this is only the second week of the season?

The pitching has been decent, the offense, with a few exceptions, has been lacking.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

MLB Week 1 – Who’d Thunk It?


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

Nine games into the 2017 season and the best team in baseball is… (drumroll please) our Cincinnati Reds.

At 7 – 2 the Reds are off to their best start since the World Championship season of 1990.

The optimistic twelve-year-old living inside me believes the Reds can win it all this year. The fifty-three-year-old working class stiff that I am knows the bubble is bursting soon, but let’s enjoy it while it lasts. Remember this is the youngest team in the majors.

Second Coming of the Nasty Boys? After the first ten games of this season Cincinnati is second in the National League in Earned Run Average – 2.73, lowest ERA after the first ten games since 2.63 in 1990.

Monday, April 3, 2017

A Harsh Winter


by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

As I begin my first article of 2017, I must open with an apology to you, the loyal readers of this blog. My Redlegs Review colleague, and best friend, Dr. Jack Ward, and I gave a brief explanation in our last podcast, published after the World Series, in case you didn’t hear it, I’ll explain.

On Friday, October 14th, 2016 while preparing to do our weekly podcast which was going to be a recap of the Divisional Series and our predictions for the upcoming League Championship Series, I phoned Jack, who said we needed to postpone the broadcast because his wife, Cindy, was experiencing some health issues and had to go to the hospital. Due to the complexity of her health issues, Cindy, an organ donor recipient, and diabetic, needed to be admitted to the University of Kentucky hospital, where the doctors are familiar with her illness.

The bad news came the next day. Cancer. Cindy was promoted from this life to eternal glory on Tuesday, October 18.

Monday, October 10, 2016

Checking in on Postseason Prognostications

Image result for thinking emoji


by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

I predicted that Baltimore would beat Toronto in the Wild Card game. Close…but I missed that one when former Red Edwin Encarnarcion hit a walk off in the 11th inning.

I predicted that Boston would beat Cleveland. Not looking good with Cleveland up 2-0 as I write this article.

I predicted that New York would beat the Giants. Wrong again, but again a close call with the Giants hanging on to win 3-0 behind Madison Bumgarner….again…arrghh!!

I did predict the Cubs over the Giants. The Cubs are up 2-0 heading into San Francisco. I so hate the Giants. I hope they lose tonight. I am so tired of hearing about the even year playoff success. I am so tired of Madison Bumgarner dominating in the playoffs. I hope that Jake Arrietta has a great game for the Cubs tonight and puts this thing to bed for Chicago. I don’t especially like the Cubs but I like the Giants even less.

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

MLB Week 26 – Ninety Times Two

Image result for the end

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

It’s over, finally.

I actually watched the Vice Presidential Debate last night. Best night of sleep I’ve gotten since attending my last postmasters meeting.

A couple of years ago, while shopping at a local retail pharmacy, I saw a compact disk specifically designed to help individuals sleep. I thought it was a recorded postal meeting.

The second straight ninety plus loss season, the first since the 1930’s, has come to a merciful conclusion.

My Redlegs Review contemporary, and dear friend, Jack Ward did his annual season recap in his article, so I won’t be redundant. I’ll just add a few thoughts.

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 24



In this edition of the Redlegs Review podcast, Dan Howard and Jack Ward provide some postseason prognostications, as well as discuss the club's decision to bring back Bryan Price for 2017.

Monday, October 3, 2016

Reds Turn the Page and Look Ahead to 2017

Image result for 2017

by: Jack Ward
Staff Writer

The 2016 season is history. The Reds gagged away their final game of the season to the Cubs. Raisel Iglesias finally blew a save. He was great all season so this last game was in no way a reflection of the year he had which began as an effective opening game starter to bullpen ace.

The loss in the final gave the Reds a 36-37 record after the All-Star break. This earned Bryan Price a contract renewal. He has next year and an option for 2018. I have no problem with Bryan Price and his whole staff coming back. The Reds are rebuilding and are very close to completing the job. I don’t know how much effect a manager really has on a team anyway. I think the general manger actually has more influence because it’s his job to get the talent on the field. All the manager can do is put the players he has been given in the right place. And then it’s up to the players to perform. A manager’s biggest influence is on the pitching staff. Knowing when to pull a starter and how he handles his bullpen.

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Redlegs Review Podcast: Episode 23



In this edition of the Redlegs Review podcast, Jack Ward and Dan Howard discuss the tragedy involving Jose Fernandez, the improvement shown by the Reds in the second half, and the retirement of long-time Dodgers announcer Vin Scully, among other topics.

Monday, September 26, 2016

MLB Week 25 – Why

Image result for jose fernandez rip

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

It’s impossible to speak about an unspeakable tragedy, but I will try to share my thoughts in the next few paragraphs.

Sunday is my only day off from my job as a clerk for the United States Postal Service. It’s the only morning I get to rise late, around 10am, review my Sunday School lesson for our noon service, play with my granddaughter, and otherwise do little else before leaving for church.

September 25, was just a typical Sunday morning for me and my family, we’re beginning a study from Acts chapter 18 in Sunday School, so I made sure I had my notes ready and grabbed a bowl of cereal for a Sunday morning news briefing on television. I wasn’t prepared for what I heard.

I’ve been a Christian for 32 years, an Assistant Pastor for eight years and, in 2010, I earned an Associate’s Degree in Theology, but nothing prepared me for the shock of hearing the tragic death of Miami Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

MLB Week 24 – The End is Near

Image result for end is near

by: Dan Howard
Staff Writer

“The city is in ruins.

The fledgling city has now has been reduced to ashes by a gang of swashbuckling Buccaneers, pillaging the village, taking no prisoners and showing no mercy.

Children are crying, women are nearing hysterics, and men wander what’s left of the smoldering streets in stunned disbelief.

One pirate busted into my humble abode, terrifying my family. I sprang into action, ready to defend my wife and kids to the death if necessary. I grabbed the first thing I could reach, a family heirloom sword, and lunged toward the torso of the assailant. I could see that my aggression had no effect on my unwelcomed guest. A sneer crossed his face as he drew his revolver from its holster a pointed it in my direction. I paused briefly then resumed my attack, expecting to meet death. The pirate pulled the hammer back on his revolver, I told my wife I loved her as I could see the invader squeeze the trigger…”