Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Six Reds denied top defensive prize


Six Cincinnati Reds had a shot at winning a Rawlings Gold Glove Award on Tuesday night, yet none of them did. This comes as a relatively big surprise considering no other team in the major leagues had more nominees than the Reds. The awards were announced on ESPN2 for the second consecutive year.

Brandon Phillips was a finalist at second base, but his bid for a fourth career Gold Glove was stymied by Chicago Cubs infielder Darwin Barney, who won the honor instead.

Bronson Arroyo, Joey Votto, Jay Bruce, Zack Cozart, and Drew Stubbs were each named finalst for the award at their respective positions as well, but ultimately came up short just as Phillips did.

Both Phillips and Votto garnered the prestigious defensive prize at their positions last season.

The trio of Bruce, Cozart, and Stubbs were vying for their first career Gold Glove awards.

A few quick notes:
+ Neither the Tigers or Giants, the two World Series participants, had a Gold Glove player on its roster.
+ The Orioles led all teams with three players earning baseball's top defensive prize.
+ Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina earned his fifth straight award.

Click here to view the winners from each league.

No comments: