Monday, January 7, 2013

Baseball Bloggers Alliance tabs Jeff Bagwell as lone Hall of Fame selection

The Baseball Bloggers Alliance released the results of its collective Hall of Fame ballot earlier this morning. For those who aren't aware, the BBA is comprised of a vast array of baseball blogs from around the country, including Redlegs Review.

Only one candidate among the group garnered the votes needed to be elected: Jeff Bagwell. The former Houston Astros slugger received 76% of the vote.

Here are the rest of the results from the BBA voting:

Craig Biggio 69%
Mike Piazza 69%
Barry Bonds 62%
Tim Raines 62%
Roger Clemens 56%
Edgar Martinez 41%
Alan Trammell 40%
Mark McGwire 35%
Curt Schilling 34%
Dale Murphy 32%
Larry Walker 32%
Jack Morris 32%
Lee Smith 25%
Kenny Lofton 21%
Sammy Sosa 21%
Don Mattingly 18%
Fred McGriff 15%
Rafael Palmeiro 15%
Bernie Williams 4%
David Wells 4%
Sandy Alomar 3%
Julio Franco 1%

The Baseball Bloggers Alliance’s vote has no impact on the official vote taken by the Baseball Writers of America. However, the BBA has often been a predictor of major awards granted by the writers.

Redlegs Review recently tabbed Biggio and Piazza as HOF worthy after conducting a poll among its writers. You can view the write-up on that post here.

No comments: