Wednesday, January 9, 2013

BBWAA: Nobody gets the call to the Hall

None of the 37 candidates nominated for the National Baseball Hall of Fame garnered the 75 percent of the vote required for election. The announcement was made Wednesday afternoon on and MLB Network. A total of 569 ballots were cast, the third highest amount in the history of the voting, but in the end the Baseball Writers' Association of America collectively voted not to produce a HOFer for the first time since 1996.

Craig Biggio, 7-time All-Star and owner of over 3,000 hits, paced the ballot with 68.2 percent (388) of the votes, which fell 39 shy of the 427 needed for election.

Jack Morris (385), Jeff Bagwell (339), Mike Piazza (329), and Tim Raines (297) rounded out the top five.

This is the eighth time that the BBWAA has failed to elect at least one candidate.

Players are eligible to remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive a minimum of five percent of the vote in any given year. Unfortunately, 19 out of the 37 candidates did not meet that requirement. Therefore, their names will now fall off of the ballot for future elections. Former New York Yankees outfielder Bernie Williams (19) received the most votes of any player failing to receive the minimum of 29 that they needed.

Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin was the lone living member of last year's Hall of Fame class after picking up 86.4 percent of the vote. He became the 24th shortstop to join Cooperstown in an official ceremony last July.

Here is a link to the results from the 2013 BBWAA ballot.

No comments: