Monday, October 7, 2013

Ballot for National League year-end awards

As part of Redlegs Review's membership with the Baseball Bloggers Alliance, RR has the privilege of participating in the voting process for Major League Baseball year-end awards through the BBA.

The Baseball Bloggers Alliance was formed in 2009 to foster communication and collaboration between bloggers across baseball. Member blogs are encouraged to use one another to deepen their understanding of the game and the teams that play it. The alliance currently boasts several hundred members.

The BBA also has a goal of producing year-end awards in a similar fashion to the Baseball Writers of America. The results of these awards are set to be announced on November 1st and will be available to view through the official site.

There are essentially 10 year-end awards up for grabs with the BBA. Each league is comprised of five awards including the Connie Mack Award (top manager), Willie Mays Award (top rookie), Goose Gossage Award (top reliever), Walter Johnson Award (top pitcher), and Stan Musial Award (top player).

Because the Reds are a National League team, and because this is a Reds blog, I was allowed the opportunity to cast a ballot for the National League awards.

Here are my selections:

Connie Mack Award - Clint Hurdle (Pirates)

Willie Mays Award - Jose Fernandez (Marlins)

Goose Gossage Award - Craig Kimbrel (Braves)

Walter Johnson Award - Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers)

Stan Musial Award - Andrew McCutchen (Pirates)

So, what do you think?

The only award I had trouble deciding on was the Stan Musial Award. There are plenty of deserving candidates who could take the honor of being the league's top player in 2013. Namely, Arizona's Paul Goldschmidt, Milwaukee's Carlos Gomez, and Atlanta's Freddie Freeman, among others. But it ultimately came down to the fact that no player was more valuable to their team than McCutchen.

In my opinion, Fernandez, Kimbrel, Kershaw, and Hurdle were obvious choices for their respective categories.

No comments: