Friday, January 17, 2014

Matt Snyder creates Reds 'all-time single-season' team

For those of who you missed it, Matt Snyder of CBS Sports recently put together an excellent piece highlighting the best individual single-seasons in Reds history. The blurb is part of an ongoing series where Snyder does the same thing with the other 29 Major League Baseball franchises.

But for our sake, let's just focus on what Snyder wrote about the Reds. Without going into too much detail, because I would really like for you to check out Snyder's full post yourself, some of the seasons that made the cut include the MVP seasons posted by Joey Votto (2010), Johny Bench (1972), Joe Morgan (1976), and George Foster (1977). Some of the pitchers who made the grade include Aroldis Chapman (2012), Jose Rijo (1993), Jim Maloney (1965), and Rob Dibble (1990).

Snyder also constructed a batting lineup comprised of these great players and based off of their best seasons. Needless to say, it is one of the scariest lineups I've ever seen.

No comments: